OFFICIAL SI:7 REPORT, CASE FILE #8378, PART 3

CASE SUMMARY (cont.)

Qopeyt leapt at the animated suit of armor, attempting to dig her sword into it’s back, but was stopped short as the metal man whirled around in the blink of an eye, smashing it’s metal gauntlet into her chestplate. She was still in midair when the blow connected with a sharp crunch, and instantly she was flying backwards. She crashed into the ground a few feet away, her shattered breastplate sliding off of her, the latches to it completely broken.

At the same time, I rushed forward, aiming to knock the suit off balance and hack it apart once it was down. I dropped into a slide as I sprinted at it, the metal soles of my boots scraping against the dirt road as I smashed into the back of it’s right leg. The suit faltered and dropped to one knee as I recovered, bringing my blade up and angling it towards a it’s arm joint, hoping to sever it’s sword arm.

My sword thrust forward, precisely aimed to take it’s arm off, but once again the metal suit knew what was coming. It shifted and leapt to it’s feet as my sword came down on the glancing slope of the back of it’s pauldron, the force of my thrust shattering my steel broadsword against the truesilver carapace.

I was thrown to the ground, forced away into a violent tumble, and I distinctly remember the terrible, shooting pain in my chest as a creeping weakness flooded through me. It was only later that I learned that I’d broken my ribs.

I attempted to push myself up, trying to ignore the pain, but even as I managed to unsteadily get to my feet, another crushing blow came down on me from behind, searing heat and sharp pain overloading my senses as I fell to the ground once more. Tendrils of darkness flooded my vision and all of a sudden, I was out.

After that, I don’t quite remember exactly what went down, but according to Qopeyt who stayed conscious through the whole thing, the suit was … durable.

According to her, she wasn’t able to sever it’s joints at all, and even had her sword snap in half when she eventually did manage to slip the blade into it’s knee joint. She only managed to bring it down by infusing her throwing daggers with magnetic magic – the blades quite literally tore the armor apart once they made contact.

From what she tells me, it was a fight that dragged on for some time. She kept her distance, dodging the suit’s lunging strikes while looking for an opening to accurately hurl a blade into it’s truesilver carapace. The regenerative metal, according to her, was the toughest part of the whole fight. Several of her daggers simply deflected off, and others were literally absorbed by the enchanted metal.

Eventually she did manage to bring the suit down though, after a protracted engagement, and after enduring two additional glancing strikes from the combatant’s gauntlet (she only took one grazing strike across her thigh from the suit’s conjured fire sword).

The crumpled remains of [REDACTED]’s suit of armor have been packaged and sealed inside the evidence vault at SI:7 headquarters for further examination by the forensics team at a later date. (Preliminary testing yielded nothing – all traces of reanimation magic had decayed rapidly following the suit’s “death.”)

This concludes part 3 of my case report. Part 4 will be along shortly.

Leave a comment